How to check PNR Status Correctly

By | June 24, 2020
check PNR Status
Check PNR Status

PNR Status of IRCTC Train tickets can be checked your PNR number. To check the PNR Status with 99% accuracy you should at first know the importance of PNR Number.

PNR is short name for ‘Passenger Name Record’. It is a record in the database of Indian Railways computer reservation system (IR-CRS) against which journey details for a passenger, or a group of passengers are saved. PNR is a 10-digit identification system for each and every ticket in Indian Railways. PNR is located on the top-left side of the ticket and gets stored in the database of the reservation system. The first 3 digits signify the zone of the train with respect to the origin station of that train and the last 7 digits are randomly generated by the system. In case of online E-Tickets PNR Number is located at the top on a separate cell. Whenever you book a ticket, no matter if it is confirmed or in waiting status, you get a randomly generated PNR number.

 A PNR number provides the following important details of passengers:

  • Passenger Name
  • Train name & number
  • Travel Agent details
  • Boarding time from the source station & arrival time at the destination station.
  • Name of the Person who has booked the Ticket
  • Seat Information
    • Coach & seat number.
    • Waitlist information, if applicable.
    • RAC (Reservation against cancellation), if applicable.
    • CNF (Confirmation) of a ticket without any seat number. Final seats are shown after the chart is prepared in such cases.
  • Chart Status  Preparation (yes/no)
  • Class of Travel & Fare of journey
  • Booking status & current status (e.g. GNWL 56 / S4, 10)
  • Journey duration.

What does Train PNR Number signify?

The PNR number of any ticket signifies the following:

  • 1 = PNR starting with ‘1’ are issued from SCR Zone (issued from Secunderabad PRS)
  • 2 & 3 = PNR starting with ‘2’ or ‘3’ are issued from either NR, NCR, NWR, or NER Zone (issued from Delhi PRS)
  • 4 & 5 = PNR starting with ‘4’ or ‘5’ are issued from either SR, SWR, or SCR Zone (issued from Chennai PRS)
  • 6 & 7 = PNR starting with ‘6’ or ‘7’ are issued from either NFR, ECR, ER, ECoR, SER, or SECR Zone (issued from Kolkata PRS)
  • 8 & 9 = PNR starting with ‘8’ or ‘9’ are issued from either CR, WCR, or WR Zone (issued from Mumbai PRS)

Also Read: Zones & Division of Railways

How to check PNR status confirmation prediction chances?

When you click the “Check Updated PNR Status” you enter the IRCTC website,  their you should enter your 10 digit PNR number, then it will show your current waiting list, date of journey, and train number & name along with train ticket confirmation possibility. PNR Update has developed a state-of-the-art algorithm which uses a technique called Machine Learning. It analyzes the ticket confirmation statistics from past PNRs and based on this it predicts the confirmation chances of new PNRs.

Also, you can get any of the following types of PNR Status Prediction Analysis:

  1. GNWL (General Waiting List) – Highest confirmation chances around 90% chance. Get your baggage ready for travelling.
  2. CKWL (Tatkal Waiting List) – GNWL tickets are preferred over Tatkal tickets hence CKWL Confirmation chances are 70-80% low compared to GNWL.
  3. RLWL (Remote Location Waiting List) – Lower chances of confirmation
  4. PQWL (Pooled Quota Waiting List) – Less chances of confirmation, quota shared between several stations.
  5. RLGN (Remote Location General Waiting List) – Less chances of confirmation, when user books ticket under RLWL.

Generally waiting list PNR Status during peak seasons like (Dussehra), Diwali, Chhath, Holi, summer and winter vacation, etc has very fewer chances to get confirmed. This is due to a large number of commuters travelling to their hometowns to celebrate the festivals with their loved ones. The price of Flights and busses also shoots high during these festive times.

Abbreviations used in PNR Status

Depending on the current status of your waitlisted train ticket, your PNR status check will display the following abbreviations:

  1. CNF: Confirmed

It means your ticket is not on the waitlist anymore. You will get your coach number and berth number after the final chart preparation.

  • RAC: Reservation Against Cancellation

It means your ticket is not on the waitlist, but not confirmed yet too. Keep checking the PNR status regularly to see if your ticket has been upgraded from RAC to CNF status. If after the final chart preparation, your ticket doesn’t get confirmed, then you have to share a side lower berth with someone else.

  • WL: Waiting List

It means your ticket is still on the waitlist. You will get the current waiting position and the IRCTC confirmation probability when you check the PNR status. You should check the status of your ticket regularly to see if your ticket gets confirmed. After the final chart preparation, your ticket remains in waitlisted status, then you can’t board the train. There are other waiting list abbreviations like GNWL, RLWL, PQWL, and TQWL which stand for General Wait List, Remote Location Wait List, Pooled Quota Wait List, and Tatkal Quota Wait List respectively.

  • CAN: Cancelled

It means your ticket has been cancelled because of some reasons.

Is PNR number allotted to unreserved ticket?

PNR number is allotted only to reserved tickets. For unreserved no PNR number is allotted as can be seen in the images below. This is because railway does not reserve any berth or seat in this case and passenger can sit or stand anywhere in his designated coach inside the train.

How to check PNR Status Correctly
Lifeline of Indian Transport

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge